An Economic lens to reclaiming the Heartlands: 100 years since Labour’s first government

Chief editor: Amarvir Singh-Bal & Supporting Lead: Chris Wongsosaputro. The former Prime Minister Gordon Brown has written the foreword. This pamphlet has also been endorsed by forty Labour Party elected officials, which include the Shadow Treasury front bench, Members of Parliament, the Senedd and several Metro Mayors.

Socialism makes war upon a system, not upon a class. This pamphlet honours this commitment, echoing James Keir Hardie’s battle cry to provide the economic blueprint against an unjust economic system, whilst providing a template for ‘a new socialism fit for a new century’.

The policies in this publication are supplied by Young Fabians that live and work in the places they analyse whilst offering an unparalleled, in-depth insight into the complex regions that make up the Heartlands of our country – and provide data-backed policy recommendations about how we can win them back.

This policy pamphlet also boasts to have the largest number of female contributors since the inception of the Fabians in 1884.

The introduction has been written by Young Fabians Senior Economist Amarvir Singh-Bal, the Executive Summary by Christopher Wongsosaputro and the conclusion written by the Chair of the Fabian Society Dr Martin Edobor.

The main forewords were written by former Prime Minister and Chancellor of the Exchequer Gordon Brown, Tulip Siddiq MP and Pat McFadden MP. Supporting forewords were also contributed by Alex Cunningham MP, Alex Norris MP, Ben Bradshaw MP, Bill Esterson MP, Carolyn Harris MP, Cat Smith MP, Catherine West MP, Conor McGinn MP, Dame Diana Johnson DBE MP, Dan Jarvis MP, Dan Norris MP, Emma Hardy MP, Emma Lewell-Buck MP, Grahame Morris MP, Ian Lavery MP, Ian Murray MP, Joan Walley (former MP), John Griffiths MS MP, Justin Madders MP, Kate Green MP, Kevin Brennan MP, Liam Byrne MP, Luke Pollard MP, Marie Rimmer MP, Mark Hendrick MP, Peter Soulsby MP, Rachael Maskell MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Sarah Champion MP, Stephen Kinnock MP, Stephen Timms MP, Steve McCabe MP, Taiwo Owatemi MP, Tan Dhesi MP, Tony Lloyd MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Wayne David MP and Yasmin Qureshi MP.


You can read the full project here.

Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction