Honorary Board

The Young Fabians' Honorary President and Vice Presidents are appointed for two-year terms by the Young Fabians' meeting at their AGM, or by the Executive Committee. In their roles they help the Young Fabians with outreach, partnerships and access to opportunities for our members. Our current Honorary Board members were all elected at or shortly after the Young Fabians' AGM in November 2020.

Howard Dawber

Honorary President

Howard is a senior director at a leading property company, trustee for several community charities in East London, Chair of Labour Friends of Bangladesh, Co-Chair of Labour Friends of USA, and a former Chair of the Young Fabians.

Abena Oppong-Asare MP

Honorary Vice President

Abena is MP for Erith and Thamesmead, Shadow Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury, Chair of Labour Women's Network, and an alumna of the Fabians Women's Network's Mentoring Programme.

Carolyn Harris MP

Honorary Vice President

Carolyn is MP for Swansea East, Deputy Leader of Welsh Labour, and Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition.

Ian Murray MP

Honorary Vice President

Ian is MP for Edinburgh South, Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland, and currently the only Labour MP representing a Scottish constituency. He is helping the Young Scottish Fabians to build a strong foundation in their inaugural year.

Kate Green MP

Honorary Vice President

Kate is MP for Stretford and Urmston, Shadow Secretary of State for Education, and a member of the Fabian Society's Executive Committee. She was awarded an OBE for services to welfare work in 2005, in recognition of her work at Child Poverty Action Group and on the National Employment Panel.

Leonie Cooper AM

Honorary Vice President

Leonie is London Assembly Member for Merton and Wandsworth, Chair of London Assembly Economy Committee, Deputy Chair of London Assembly Environment Committee, and a Councillor representing Furzedown Ward in London Borough of Wandsworth.

Liam Byrne MP

Honorary Vice President

Liam is MP for Birmingham Hodge Hill, a former government minister, and Labour's candidate for Mayor of the West Midlands in 2021. Liam is a former member of the Young Fabians' Executive Committee and a co-founder of our political magazine, Anticipations.

Paul Richards

Honorary Vice President

Paul is a political author, columnist, and former special adviser to two cabinet ministers during the last Labour Government. He co-produced the influential Young Fabian pamphlet The Case for Socialism in 2000.

Seema Malhotra MP

Honorary Vice President

Seema is MP for Feltham and Heston, Shadow Minister for Employment, co-founder of the Fabian Women's Network Mentoring Programme, and a former Chair of the Young Fabians. She co-produced the influential Young Fabian pamphlet The Case for Socialism in 2000.

Taiwo Owatemi MP

Taiwo is MP for Coventry North West, an NHS pharmacist by training and a former primary school governor in her local area. She is a former Vice Chair of the Young Fabians Health Network and a current member of the Fabian Women's Network's Executive Committee.

Unmesh Desai AM

Honorary Vice President

Unmesh is London Assembly Member for City and East, Chair of the London Assembly Police and Crime Committee, and a former human rights lawyer.

Wes Streeting MP

Honorary Vice President

Wes is MP for Ilford North, Shadow Minister for Schools, and Vice Chair of the Fabian Society. He recently authored the Fabian Society's pamphlet Let Us Face the Future Again.